Connect with us

Events

Product Submissions Now Open for the 2022 MIDI Innovation Awards

Published

on

Music Hackspace, the MIDI Association, and NAMM Join Together to Present the Awards

Music Hackspace, The MIDI Association, and NAMM are proud to announce that submissions are now open for the 2022 MIDI Innovation Awards, a showcase for music innovation using MIDI. 

MIDI has been at the center of music technology innovation since 1983, and MIDI 2.0 is poised to repeat MIDI 1.0’s global success in the decades to come. To further MIDI’s development and artistic impact, the second edition of the MIDI Innovation Awards continues to acknowledge MIDI innovation. 

Athan Billias, President of The MIDI Association, remarked, “The first MIDI Innovation Awards in 2021 was an amazing event that exceeded our expectations, and with the continued support of Music Hackspace and NAMM, we are confident the second annual MIA awards will be even more exciting.”

Musicians and inventors around the world have a unique opportunity to present their ideas on a global stage, as well as win valuable prizes. The first prize is valued at more than $10,000 and includes passes to The 2022 NAMM Show, an exhibition booth at The 2023 NAMM Show, as well as significant support from The MIDI Association and Music Hackspace for the development of MIDI 2.0 prototypes. 

The 2022 NAMM Show will debut a dedicated community environment, The MIDI Showcase, inviting attendees to fully immerse in the products, people, and innovations employing MIDI to continue to shape the future of music and technology.

The MIDI Innovation awards are open to individuals, artists, and companies who work with MIDI to build innovative products or interactive experiences. 
The 2022 MIDI Innovation Awards have been expanded into five unique categories. 

  • Commercial Hardware Products
  • Commercial Software Products
  • Prototypes and non-commercial hardware products
  • Prototypes and non-commercial software products
  • Artistic/Visual Project or Installation

Entries to the competition are open, and applicants are invited to submit their entries here

The finalists will pitch their entries during a livestream open to all to watch on Saturday, May 28 at 12 midday PDT (3pm EDT / 8pm GMT / 9pm CET) on MIDI.org.  

Then the winners will be announced at the June NAMM Show on June 4, 2022.

Registration for The 2022 NAMM Show is now open at www.namm.org/badges

For more details, please check here


Synth and Software
Continue Reading
Advertisement

Join the S&S Newsletter

Facebook

Trending