Connect with us

In This Issue

Vienna Symphonic Library Releases Synchron Woodwinds



A new sample library collection of solo and ensemble woodwinds

VSL’s goal for their latest orchestral instrument collection was to create agile and expressive legatos. So the solo instruments have both regular and fast legato variations, selectable with an “auto-speed” patch for the Synchron Player.

They also included non-vibrato articulations (vibrato is generally not used in ensemble playing). That’s in addition to articulations with vibrato.

This is cut and paste from the release:

“Synchron Woodwinds features ensemble recordings that are also included in the Big Bang Orchestra Packs Neptune, Orion and Solaris. The “Tutti Woodwinds” ensemble consists of 13 instruments, from the piccolo to the contrabassoon, that are played in unison and octaves. Each of the “Woodwind Sections” consisting of flutes, oboes, clarinets in Bb and bassoons is made up of three musicians playing together in unison. The “Low FX Woodwinds” section of three contrabassoons, two bassoons, one contrabass clarinet and two bass clarinets provides dramatic fundamental lows in unison and octaves as well as in clusters. The “High FX Woodwinds” section consists of one piccolo, three flutes, two oboes and four clarinets, playing long notes in unison and octaves, as well as runs and arpeggios in a wide variety of scales and chords. 

To capture the ambience of “Stage A” of Synchron Stage, Vienna’s engineers employed seven separate phase-coherent microphone configurations to provide a broad range of room options. All of them are available as separate channels in the mixer section of the Vienna Synchron Player.

Pre-configured mixer presets provide a wide variety of tonal characteristics, from close to ambient, from lush to sparkling, from natural to heavily processed. As with all Synchron Libraries, users can mix their woodwinds sound in stereo, 5.1 surround or even 9.1 Auro 3D, or any other immersive audio format, such as Dolby Atmos.

The Standard Library and the Full Library of Synchron Woodwinds both include the same set of articulations. The difference lies in the number of provided microphone positions.”

Here’s what’s included:


Flute 1

Flute 2

Alto Flute

Oboe 1

Oboe 2

English Horn

Clarinet in Bb 1

Clarinet in Bb 2

Bass Clarinet

Bassoon 1

Bassoon 2


Flute Ensemble (3 players)*

Oboe Ensemble (3 players)*

Clarinet Ensemble (3 players)*

Bassoon Ensemble (3 players)*

Tutti Woodwinds (13 players)*

Low FX Woodwinds (8 players)*

High FX Woodwinds (10 players)*

* Also included in the Big Bang Orchestra Series

The current prices range from $485 to $698, but it gets complicated with all the crossgrades, introductory pricing, etc., so please visit the product page for more details.

Screencast demo by the ridiculously talented Guy Bacos here.

Continue Reading